Practicum Week 1

Keeping this quote in mind, what is the “climate” of the classroom in which you are placed? What is the overall “climate” of the school”? Please share examples to validate your impressions. 

I walked into a room, filled with smiling children, and a teacher who was organizing them into groups. I was walking into my first practicum. This room was going to my training ground, my very own way to prove to myself that this was what I wanted.  

The room was smaller than I expected, with artwork on the wall. This room was filled with the chatter of the children as they moved around and talked to the teacher and to each other. Desks were set up in rows, similar to the rest of the school, but each row was distinct as was each student.  

Throughout the day, while each subject is gone over, there are connections to the one before and the one after it. And the I find that the classroom is welcoming while also being supportive of each of these connections. There may not be the typical carpet, or often a lot of circle time, but each student knows that they are welcome. I also find that the teachers are all supportive and work together, they chat in between periods, and after school. I find that even if the teachers are not talking about students, if they get along, they are more likely to engage in more holistic learning environments.  

Overall, the school climate at St. Cyril’s is welcoming. There are little touches around the school. By providing the support that each teacher needs, from the principle helping with supervision to the staffroom environment which is cheerful and chatty, to the students walking around the halls and teachers knowing their names.  

I am enjoying my time here at St. Cyril’s and I am learning what it means to be working in a supportive environment.  

Leave a comment